Sports News

Warriors Going Into Manitoba Hockey Hall Of Fame

The Manitoba Hockey Hall Of Fame announced their inductees for 2019 yesterday and Flin Flon will be recognized.


The 1965-66 Flin Flon Warriors will be inducted into the team category after winning three straight Intermediate Championships.


The Warriors were one of the best amateur teams in the country and even beat the National team on one occasion.


Flin Flon's magical season started  by beating Kenora three games to one for the Inter Provincial Trophy.


Advancing to the Western Semi- Finals the Warriors beat Kindersley in three straight.


The Warriors then claimed the 1966 Edmonton Journal Cup with a sweep over Lloydminster in the best of 5 with scores of 6-1, 2-1 and 5-2.


There were no intermediate playdowns in Eastern Canada so the Warriors stood as the top Intermediate team in Canada.


What makes these stats even more impressive  was that 16 of the 19 players on the team were all from Flin Flon.


Here is the Championship roster:


Rex Rideout, Dan Warwaruk, Don Donaldson,Dave Rainville, Bob Willey, George Chigol, Ernie Poirier, Tom Davie, Vic Poirier, Cliff Lennartz (captain), George Allard, Jack Turner, Ken Kvern,Laverne Loewen, Lyle Willey (Winnipeg), Ralph Lyndon(Winnipeg), Harry Beuchert (Winnipeg), Bill Bond, Al Evason and Bud Killick the coach.


The Flin Flon Warriors will officially be inducted on October the 5th at Canad Inns Polo Park. Tickets are available by calling 204- 837-4159.




Your Calendar


  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      


Frontline Sport & Leisure - U-Pick/Opinion Poll

It's Frontline Sport and Leisure's U-Pick Of The Day- It's Hot Out There